My Inner Blanche DuBois

I started a new job recently and when one of my colleagues did a quick google-stalk on me (it’s cool….that’s just standard operating procedure these days) she discovered that I’m a writer.  She even went so far as to read a couple of my blogs.

“You’re a really good writer,” she said to me.  “I liked that blog you wrote on coaching your baseball team.”

Now, this lovely, intelligent, obviously astute woman was not the first person to tell me she enjoyed my writing, but she was one of the few that isn’t a close friend a relative or an easily bribed critic.

It got me to wonderin’…

Image result for is it just me

Her words had a greater impact on me than those who know and love me because, yeah, like I’m really going to listen to the people who didn’t say a damn word about that mullet I rocked through my college years.

My next thought, quite naturally, went to Blanche Dubois from the play A Streetcar Named Desire.

We all depend on the kindness of strangers to some degree, don’t we?  I mean, it’s not just me, right?  Don’t we all love it when someone we don’t know goes out of there way to tell us:

You have the most gorgeous baby!

That’s a beautiful scarf you’re wearing!

You have an amazing smile!

Hey, you are really rocking that mullet!

Go be a stranger to someone today.  Not the creepy windowless conversion van kind of stranger, but the kind of stranger who just says something nice to someone that they don’t know very well or maybe even don’t know at all.  Go make someone’s day.  That’s some incredible power we all have.  We have stranger power.

If you do go use your stranger power, share it here with me.  Let me know what you did and how you touched someone.  That way I can take a little credit for it myself. 😉

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “My Inner Blanche DuBois

  1. I was searching for the Streetcar quote and stumbled upon this blog post. I didn’t help anyone today, but two strangers helped me! My key wouldn’t turn in my car’s ignition in the parking lot of a public building. One man tried to help and got another man to bring some spray to unstick the key. It worked enough to get me home, and it helped restore some of my faith in humanity. Little kindnesses matter so much.

    Like

Leave a Reply

