Be Who You Want To Be

“Be All You Can Be”

-U.S. Army recruiting slogan (1980-2001)

If you’re reading this blog, chances are you’re either a child of mine or you’re someone old enough to remember the above slogan.  It was the recruiting slogan used by the U.S. Army from 1980 to 2001.

I was never in the Army, but I have watched a lot of TV over the years.  So maybe that old commercial was the inspiration behind the question I always ask my kids when they do or say something that gets them into some kind of trouble.

“Is That The Person You Want To Be?”

– Derek Rempfer parenting slogan (1994-The Day I Die)

I’m always encouraging my kids to look at every decision they make through the eyes of the person they want to be.  And I try to do the same myself.

What kind of person do I want to be?

What kind of father, husband, son, and brother?

What kind of Christian, friend, and co-worker?

What do I want to accomplish?

How to I want the world to view me?

What do I want people to say about me when I leave the room?  What about when I leave this life?

I think the answer to all these questions is the same…and it’s rather obvious:

Charles Ingalls

Hell, I've already got the hair for it!

I want to be this guy!

The other night my daughter Chloe turned the tables on me.  I was being a little cranky when I saw her making herself a late dinner shortly after I had cleaned the kitchen and put all the leftovers away.  She reacted to my grumpiness with a cheerful,

“DAD, THAT’S NOT WHO YOU ARE!”

I laughed and asked her, “No?  Well, who am I then?”

And she said, “You’re a happy person who likes making other people happy.”

Tell you what…that daughter of mine is pretty wise.  I don’t know if that’s exactly who I am right now, but it’s definitely who I want to be.

I hope that the Derek Rempfer I want to be is coming through in these blog entries.  All I ever want to be is “better.”  Better this year than last.  Better this day than last.  Better this moment than last.

I am a work in progress, but I’m doing my best.  And like that great American Army general said…

“If a man does his best, what else is there?”

-Gen. George S. Patton

General George S. Patton

General George S. Patton

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

