Hoping for a Faceball!

My son Quinn scored his first goal for his middle school soccer team the other day.  He was playing center forward and when the right forward crossed the ball from the far corner, Quinn positioned himself perfectly in front of the goal and waited for his moment.

The ball flew just over the reach of the goalies outstretched arms and there was Quinn poised and ready to put it in the goal.  He knew it was going to take a header to get it in the net.  He turned toward the ball, braced himself, closed his eyes and…

GOOOOOOAAAAL!!!

YES!  HE SCORES!!

But here’s the thing…remember that part about how he closed his eyes?  Well, the poor lad didn’t so much head the ball into the goal as face it in.

(Does it make me a bad dad that I am giggling as I write this?)

He ran back to midfield giving high-fives to his teammates with one hand and rubbing his face with the other.

(Seriously, I am really laughing my butt off right now).

But the bottom line is he scored.  He did everything he could to make sure that he was going to.

  1. He worked hard and paid attention in practice, so he knew exactly where the center forward should be in that situation.
  2. He executed what he had learned, planting himself right in front of the net.
  3. And then he hit that ball with his FACE!

Okay, so maybe that last part wasn’t necessarily the plan.  It wasn’t perfect.  

But he could get away with being a little imperfect because of everything else he had done leading up to that moment.imperfect2

 

There was a lesson there for me.  I am doing everything I can possibly think of to put my novel in the right position to be a raging success.  And now, I’m just standing in front of the net waiting to try and score.  I’m trying to keep my eyes open, but even if I blink…

 

 

FACEBALL!

FACEBALL!

Leave a comment

Filed under Where The Broken Lie

Leave a Reply

