Derek Rempfer – A Liked Human Being

Finding time to update this blog has been a bit of a struggle for me.  Partly because finding time to do anything is a struggle, but also because trying to come up with topics that people will be interested in is a bit of a daunting proposition.

(The following sentence is going to make many of you want to stop reading – please don’t do that.)

Why on earth would anyone care about what I have to say about anything?

Well, I reckon (it’s OK, I’m from the Midwest) the theory is that I’m going to find an audience who can connect with me because:

  1. They read my book and liked it.
  2. They have had similar experiences to me.
  3. I’m an authority on a topic of interest to them.
  4. They are just lonely, lonely people.
  5. They are immediately related to me or went to high school with me (graduating class of 22 barely beats out immediate family of I’m not going to bother counting).
  6. THEY LIKE ME!  THEY REALLY LIKE ME!

you-like-me

So I’ve felt all this pressure to be, like, an authority on something or, like, related to people.  And that’s just silly because I’m not an authority on anything.

Which brings me to a conversation I had with my wife the other night.  My lovely wife, who clearly recognizes the issues around items 1-5 on the list above, suggested that I focus on the Sally Field angle.  She finds me funny and charming and thinks that with a little bit of effort, perhaps others will, too.

So here I am world!  Get ready to really like me! To REALLY like me!

What’s interesting is that the day after having that conversation with my wife, I read a blog titled “The Permission to Be Yourself” by Jeff Goins.  Excerpt:

Sometimes, waiting for permission is the worst thing you can do.

Hear me loud and clear: I’m not saying you should ever force your message on someone who didn’t ask for it. But I am saying this:

No one’s going to give you permission to be yourself.

 

Tru dat (it’s OK, I’m from the Midwest)!  YOU HEAR THAT, DAD!!!  I DON’T NEED YOUR PERMISSION!!!

Er, um, anyway….

Now that I have permission to be myself from both my wife and Jeff Goins, in coming blogs I will be sharing what life is like for a 44 year-old husband and father of three who is working as a project manager at an e-commerce company while trying to fulfill a life dream of being a successful author.  If that doesn’t keep you coming back, then I don’t know what will.

Until next time, let’s all try to be ourselves.  Permission has been granted.

Leave a comment

Filed under Ethan Merrill Rempfer, Hearts Left Behind, Loss of a child, Stillbirth, Uncategorized, Where The Broken Lie

Leave a Reply

