Book Cover Suggestions and Feedback Please

Let me start by saying that I really love the existing cover I have for my book Hearts Left Behind.  Not only because I feel it represents the tone of the story, but also because my 14 year-old daughter Chloe created it.  That said, I don’t really have an artistic bone in my body, so I’m turning to you all for suggestions.  PLEASE let me know your thoughts on:

– how important a book cover is to you when choosing your next read

– your opinion of the existing book cover for Hearts Left Behind – don’t worry about hurting feelings 🙂

– suggestions for me for my next book cover

– examples of book covers that you really liked

Now…at this point there just are not a lot of visitors to this site so I’m not likely to get a lot of feed back.  But I’m going to be super depressed if I don’t get at least, let’s say, 3 replies.  If that didn’t guilt you into giving me some feedback then I can only assume you have no soul.

12 Comments

Filed under Ethan Merrill Rempfer, Hearts Left Behind, Loss of a child, Stillbirth, Uncategorized, Where The Broken Lie

12 responses to “Book Cover Suggestions and Feedback Please

  1. Amy Kise Cassiday

    I really love the cover of Hearts Left Behind. It’s a very poignant photograph. And I guess, I don’t tend to look too much at book covers; I’m more interested in the inside jacket and seeing what the story is about.

    So at least you heard from one person. 🙂

    Like

  2. Larry Vint

    I love your current book cover, It conveys a lot of meaning that resides within your remarkable story. If you cannot recreate the current cover with a HD photo, maybe Chloe could sketch or paint a version of it. Have you seen her sketches lately? The girl has a lot of talent.

    Like

  3. Angela Male

    I LOVE the cover of Hearts Left Behind. I’m not a ‘judge by the cover’ kind of person but I’d be lying if I didn’t say that the cover alone intrigued me. Of course after I started reading the extraordinary story I couldn’t put the book down. Cover or no cover, the book is a must read. Seems to me that if the accolade for cover design goes to daughter Chloe, then perhaps she’s your go to visionary for the next cover. i for one cannot wait for both your visions to be revealed in your next release!

    Like

  4. In the book, “The Art of Racing in the Rain,” there’s a line that goes something like no race was ever won in the first turn, but a lot of them have been lost there. A good book cover doesn’t necessarily sell the book, but a bad cover can certainly turn off a reader. The cover image on Hearts Left Behind intrigued me enough to want to read it. I’m glad I did. The image ties into the book’s story and the swinging girl and her impact on Tucker. The black and white image also suggests some darkness or sadness in the book. The cover is dynamic. There’s motion in the swing–the angle of the swing suggests a child has just left it. I wouldn’t change the cover.

    Like

    • Yes, Richard. That’s exactly what we were trying to convey. I’m glad the message came through and that the cover intrigued you enough to read. Now, I just need about a million others to react similarly. 🙂

      Like

  5. Kudos to Chloe!

    Maybe I’m shallow but I do think a cover is important! As a customer browsing in a bookshop, there is little to make one book stand out against the visual multitude of choices. I know a good cover doesn’t make a good book, but I’m not usually going to pick up a book with mediocre cover design unless I’ve been told to check out the author.

    I do like the cover as it is with the exception of the font. It feels to ’70’s and I can’t articulate better why I’m not fond of it. It does serve the purpose, the size of font and it’s boldness, of holding it’s own against the black trees and high contrast of the photo manipulation. The swing is a fantastic choice for giving nods to themes and scenes in the story. Again, the photo manipulation takes a normally happy, playful subject and makes one wonder what is really brewing. The Cub Cadet running in the background when a careless cigarette ignites the parched grass.

    It’s hard to tell how it would translate onto the paper of a cover but I picture and matte finished paper lending some softness to an otherwise ominous photo.

    Does all this mean we will be seeing a book in print, soon??

    I’m enjoying your blog!

    Like

    • Thank you for the feedback, Laurie. I am going to use CreateSpace to print some hard copies of the book. That’s one of the reasons I need a new cover. The photo used for the existing cover is at too low of a resolution, so it can’t be used for the print edition. I’ve actually contracted someone to put something together for the print edition and I’ll likely use that for the first few copies at least.

      Like

  6. Kay Jean

    I love the cover, I would go for a repeat with high resolution this time. The book cover is important to me when I am browsing.

    Like

  7. The cover is great. It has mystery and it looks haunting, like a tale of lost love. I agree with Laurie. The font does give a 70’s vibe, but I don’t know, I kinda like it.
    Book covers are super important to me. Anything that looks interesting or mysterious is what motivates me to pick up a cover.

    Like

Leave a Reply

